Welcome to HPNP2017

The 3rd Toyama International Workshop on "Higgs as a Probe of New Physics" (HPNP2017) will be hosted by the University of Toyama. The workshop will be held in 1.-5. March 2017 on Gofuku Campus of the University of Toyama, Toyama, Japan.(*)

By the discovery of a Higgs boson in 2012, the standard model was confirmed to give a good description for most of the phenomena below the electroweak scale. In spite of the success of the standard model, the nature of the Higgs sector and the dynamics behind the electroweak symmetry breaking are still mystery. On the other hand, there are phenomena which cannot be explained in the standard model, such as neutrino oscillation, existence of dark matter, baryon asymmetry of the Universe and cosmic inflation. It is clear that the new physics beyond the standard model is necessary.

Currently the data from LHC Run-II are coming and future collider experiments such as next LHC experiments and future electron-positron colliders are planned. In addition, operative and upcoming cosmological/astrophysical observations as well as flavor experiments will also bring us insights into the nature of new physics. Therefore, it is a good time to discuss the physics role of the Higgs sector and its relation to the physics beyond the standard model.

The aim of HPNP2017 is to bring together Higgs related physicists from around the world to discuss the relation between Higgs physics and models beyond the Standard Model.

The topics of the workshop will be

  • Determination of the Shape of the Higgs Sector from Experiments
  • Physics of Extended Higgs Sectors
  • New Paradigms and Higgs Physics (SUSY, Composite Higgs, Scale Invariance, Extra Dim, ...)
  • Dynamics behind Electroweak Symmetry Breaking
  • Higgs Physics and Flavor Physics/Neutrinos Physics/Dark Matter
  • Electroweak Phase Transition and Higgs Physics
  • Higgs Inflation, other Cosmological Implications
  • Higgs and Planck Scale Physics

(*): The period of the workshop has been extended from 1.-4. March to 1.-5. March.

News: Best Poster Award

The poster jury of HPNP2017 selected

  • Mr. Katsuya Hashino (University of Toyama)
  • Mr. Hayato Ito (University of Tokyo)

as Best Poster Award, and

  • Mr. Yoshio Fujitani (Tohoku University)
  • Mr. Ryo Nagai (Nagoya University)

as Best Poster - Honorable Mention.
All student posters were judged by the poster jury:
Prof. Carlos Wagner (Chair), Prof. Cheng-Wei Chiang, Prof. Sven Heinemeyer, Prof. Sabine Kraml and Prof. Seongchan Park

(Left) From the left, Mr. R. Nagai, Prof. C.-W. Chiang, Mr. H. Ito, Prof. S. Heinemeyer,
Mr. K. Hashino, Prof. S. Kraml and Mr. Y. Fujitani

(Right) From the left, Prof. C.-W. Chiang, Mr. H. Ito, Prof. S. Heinemeyer, Mr. K. Hashino and Prof. S. Kraml

News: Snapshot photos

Snapshot photos provided by participants are linked here.
(Thanks to Sven Heinemeyer)

News: Group photo

Important Dates

  • 15. December 2016: Deadline for Abstract Submission
  • 15. December 2016: Deadline for Visa Letter Request
  • 15. January 2017: Deadline for Registration

List of Invited Speakers Includes

Abdesslam Arhrib (Abdelmalek Essaadi U.)
Fawzi Boudjema (Annecy, LAPTH)
Chengwei Chiang (National Taiwan U.)
Keisuke Fujii (KEK)
Bohdan Grzadkowski (U. of Warsaw)
Howard E. Haber (UC Santa Cruz)
Sven Heinemeyer (IFCA, U. of Cantabria)
Yutaka Hosotani (Osaka U.)
Seiji Kawamura (ICRR, U. of Tokyo)
Pyungwon Ko (Korea Institite for Advanced Study)
Thomas Konstandin (DESY)
Sabine Kraml (LPSC, Grenoble)
Maria Krawczyk (U. of Warsaw)
Kentarou Mawatari (LPSC, Grenoble)
Stefano Moretti (NExT, U. of Southampton)
Masayuki Nakahata (ICRR, U. of Tokyo)
Holger B. Nielsen (Niels Bohr Institute)
Jose M. No (King's College London)
Hideki Okawa (Tsukuba U.)
Seong Chan Park (Yonsei U.)
Michael J. Ramsey-Musolf (Massachusetts U., Amherst)
Rui Santos (ISEL, U. of Lisbon)
Eibun Senaha (National Taiwan U.)
Tomo Takahashi (Saga U.)
Carlos Wagner (Argonne National Laboratory)
and more

International Advisory Committee

Fawzi Boudjema (Annecy, LAPTH) Chengwei Chiang (National Taiwan U.)
Christophe Grojean (DESY) Howard E. Haber (UC Santa Cruz)
Junji Hisano (Nagoya U.) Yutaka Hosotani (Osaka U.)
Pyungwon Ko (KIAS) Maria Krawczyk (U. of Warsaw)
Stefano Moretti (U. of Southampton) Mihoko Nojiri (KEK / Kavli IPMU)
Yasuhiro Okada (KEK) Michael Peskin (SLAC)

Local Organizing Committee

Mayumi Aoki (Kanazawa U.) Mitsuru Kakizaki (U. of Toyama)
Chair: Shinya Kanemura (U. of Toyama) Kin-ya Oda (Osaka U.)
Tetsuo Shindou (Kogakuin U.) Hiroaki Sugiyama (U. of Toyama)
Koji Tsumura (Kyoto U.) Ya-Juan Zheng (U. of Toyama)


Shinya Kanemura (Chair):
E-mail: kanemu_at_sci.u-toyama.ac.jp
Tamami Arikawa (Secretary):
E-mail: hpnp2017_at_jodo.sci.u-toyama.ac.jp
(Please replace _at_ with @)


  • University of Toyama
  • Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT)
  • Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)
  • Marie Sklodowska-Curie Actions
  • Toyama Prefecture
  • Toyama City